CRISC Certification

Enroll Now
Pay Now

CRISC is an acronym for Certified in Risk and Information Systems Control. The ISACA website defines CRISC as “the most current and rigorous assessment available to evaluate the risk management proficiency of IT professionals and other employees within an enterprise or financial institute.”

CRISC certification is an earned qualification that verifies your knowledge and expertise in risk management. CRISC-certified professionals aid enterprises in understanding business risk and possess a technical understanding to implement the most useful information security procedures and controls.

The following professionals benefit the most from CRISC certification:

  • Business analysts
  • Compliance professionals
  • Control professionals
  • IT professionals
  • Project managers
  • Risk professionals


Why Is CRISC Important?

Risk management is a big thing these days, considering the proliferation of cybercrimes, especially in terms of data theft and fraud. With more of our personal and professional lives moving to the digital world, cybersecurity has become a top priority, especially for businesses. After all, a significant data breach could result in substantial financial losses or even bankruptcy for a company. A business that’s unable to keep its transactions secure gains a reputation for being untrustworthy and risky, which could cause irreversible damage.

Professionals certified in CRISC create a greater understanding of information technology risks and how they impact an entire organization. Furthermore, they devise plans and strategies for mitigating those risks. Finally, CRISC professionals establish a common language to facilitate communication and understanding between the IT groups and stakeholders.

CRISC certification:

  • Is a tangible indicator of your knowledge and expertise as a risk professional
  • Increases your value for any company or organization that wants to manage IT risk effectively
  • Grants you a competitive edge over other candidates who are applying for a position or are seeking a promotion
  • Grants you access to the ISACA global community of knowledge, including the most current ideas regarding IT risk management
  • Helps you gain and maintain a high standard of professional conduct via ISACA’s requirements for continuing education and ethics

How Do You Get CRISC Certification?

Considering all of the benefits, you’re no doubt wondering how to go about getting ISACA CRISC certification eligibility. Here’s what you need to do to gain certification in risk and information systems control:

  1. Pass the CRISC examination.
  2. Gain experience in IT risk management and information systems control; a minimum of three years of cumulative work experience as a CRISC professional across at least two of the four CRISC domains. One of the two required domains must be either Domain 1 or 2. Note that there are no experience waivers or substitutions. You have to put in the work! All work experience must be verified independently by your employers.
  3. Complete and submit a CRISC Application for Certification. The work experience must be earned within the ten years preceding the certification application date, or within five years from the date that you passed the examination.
  4. Adhere to the Code of Professional Ethics, designed to maintain standards for professional and personal conduct. This includes not disclosing information gained while fulfilling one’s duties unless required to do so by law. The member must perform their duties professionally, with due diligence and objectivity in keeping with best practices and professional standards. Finally, they must maintain a high level of conduct, character, and standards at all times.
  5. Adhere to the Continuing Professional Education (CPE) Policy, which requires an annual minimum of 20 contact hours of CPE, plus maintenance fees. Certified CRISX professionals must log a minimum of 120 required contact hours during a fixed, three-year period.

How Much Is the CRISC Exam?

You have your choice of many different places and times to take the CRISC exam, depending on your place of residence and what your time constraints are. Check here for the most convenient time and place. The 2019 CRISC exam cost is USD 575 for ISACA members and USD 760 for non-members.

Following are major chapteres of the CRISC Course

  1. Governance
  2. IT Risk assesment
  3. Risk response and reporting
  4. Information technology and security

Jonathon Smith

Wordpress Teacher

Answer all of your questions

Customer Reviews